Harvey Ruvin - Clerk of the Courts - Miami-Dade County, Florida

Traffic - Frequently Asked Questions

14. How long will it take before the ticket is filed with the Clerk’s Office and available in your public system?

15. How can I change my court date before my scheduled hearing?

16. How can I obtain an extension to pay my ticket/court fine?

17. Why do I have to pay a fee to reset my court date?

18. Why can’t a Clerk set the case for court over the phone if the ticket is on time?

19. Why can’t a witness reschedule a court date?

20. Why was my motion denied?

21. Why did the officer tell me I could get my ticket dismissed by just showing a copy of the insurance or registration?

22. Why is the city still issuing red light tickets? Wasn’t that deemed unconstitutional?

23. Can I change the location of my hearing?

24. Can someone come to court in my behalf?

 

PREVIOUS...

 

14. How long will it take before the ticket is filed with the Clerk’s Office and available in your public system?
There is no exact time frame. The information will appear in our computer system and be available for public viewing after the officer files the citation with the Clerk’s Office.

15. How can I change my court date before my scheduled hearing?
If you have a citation for a traffic infraction, you may file a Motion for Relief requesting a continuance of the hearing date. The Motion must be filed with the Clerk’s Office at least five (5) business days before the hearing date by either appearing in person at any Miami Dade Clerk of Court location or by sending a request in writing to:

Miami-Dade County Clerk of Courts
1351 NW 12th Street, Room #124
Miami, FL 33125

16. How can I obtain an extension to pay my ticket/court fine?
While the Clerk’s Office does not offer extensions, it does offer arrangements for a payment plan at any Clerk of Court location which may be found online at www.miami-dadeclerk.com .  Please note, if your case has been referred to a collection agency due to an outstanding balance, you are not eligible to enroll in a Payment Plan.

If you wish to do this via mail, you must do the following: 

  • Submit a notarized letter stating that you would like to enroll in a Payment Plan and that you are willing to make monthly payments. Include the citation number for each citation written in that letter. A payment in the amount of 20% of the total amount due must be included. Please note that the minimum payment you can pay on a payment plan is $25 per month. This amount will be applied towards the balance due.
  • In addition, there is $25 non-refundable enrollment fee that must also be included.
  • Please make your check or money order payable to “Miami Dade Clerk of Courts.”
  • Mail your Payment Plan Request and payments by check or money order to:

Miami-Dade County Clerk of Courts
1351 NW 12th Street, Room # 124
Miami, Florida 33125

By setting up a Payment Plan, the Defendant agrees to make monthly payments until the total amount is paid in full. A payment schedule will reflect the monthly payment amount and due date. The Clerk’s Office will mail the payment plan contract to the address on file. If the address in the system is incorrect, please include the new address with your notarized letter.

Additionally, all documents are dated and time-stamped upon receipt in the Clerk’s Office. Please allow sufficient time for mail delivery to avoid late fees and/or suspension of your driver’s license.

17. Why do I have to pay a fee to reset my court date?
If you fail to comply with your citation within 30 days of the date the citation was issued, by requesting a hearing, or if you failed to appear in court for your traffic infraction, then you are subject to a $16 fee to request a new court hearing within 180 days from the violation date of the citation.  Please note that the violation date and issue date vary on red light camera tickets.

18. Why can’t a Clerk set the case for court over the phone if the ticket is on time?
To avoid any confusion, the Clerk’s Office requires a written request signed by the person issued the citation in order to set the case for court.

19. Why can’t a witness reschedule a court date?
Witnesses may file a Motion for Relief requesting a continuance at least five (5) business days prior to the hearing date. This request may be made in person at any Miami-Dade Clerk of Courts location or by sending the request in writing to:       

Miami-Dade County Clerk of Courts
1351 NW 12th Street, Room #124
Miami, FL 33125

20. Why was my motion denied?
The explanation for denial of a motion by a judge is usually not provided; however, you have the option to file a second motion for reconsideration of that decision.

21. Why did the officer tell me I could get my ticket dismissed by just showing a copy of the insurance or registration?
The Clerk’s Office cannot explain why the officer advised you of this, but that information is incorrect. A citation that requires that you show the Clerk proof of compliance (valid registration, insurance, or driver license) requires a $10.00 fee for dismissal along with proof of valid insurance and/or registration that was issued before the citation was issued.

22. Why is the city still issuing red light tickets? Wasn’t that deemed unconstitutional?
In some municipalities of Miami-Dade County, the red light cameras are still in effect and the State of Florida has not made a ruling on the issue of constitutionality.

23. Can I change the location of my hearing?
You may file a Motion for Relief with the Clerk’s Office requesting a change of venue; however, this is a discretionary decision by a judge. This must be done at least five (5) business days before the court hearing. This can be done in person at any Miami-Dade Clerk of Courts location or by sending a request in writing to:

Miami Dade County Clerk of Courts
1351 NW 12th Street, Room #124
Miami, FL 33125

24. Can someone come to court in my behalf?
Although it is not against the law for someone to appear on your behalf, you are still risking that the judge might suspend your license for your failure to appear in person. Please note this is a discretionary decision by a judge and not an automatic right.

 

PREVIOUS...