Payment for Jurors
Miami-Dade County Ordinance
Sections 11-31, et seq., of the Code of Metropolitan Miami-Dade County provides that employers are to pay employees for jury service if:
The employee is regularly scheduled for work at least 35 hours a week.
The employer has at least 10 full-time employees.
The employee serves as a juror in Miami-Dade County.
The employer has offices or does business in Miami-Dade County.
The employee gives the employer a copy of the summons and notice of jury service at least five working days prior to absence from work.
Payment under this ordinance does not include commissions.
If a juror receives payment for jury service from their employer and also from the State, the employer may deduct the amount received from the State from the employee's pay.
According to Florida Statutes, during the first three days of jury duty, payment by the State is as follows:
If your employer does NOT continue to pay your regular wages or you are NOT employed, or self-employed, then you are entitled to receive payment from the State in the amount of $15.00 per day for the first three days and $30.00 per day thereafter. When you report for jury duty, be sure to fill out a Request for Compensation form so that you will be mailed a check at the end of each week that you are in attendance either in a continued selection or on a trial. A Request for Compensation Form is not necessary if your employer is paying your regular wages while you are on jury duty.
If jury service lasts four days or more, all jurors automatically receive $30 per day for the fourth day of service and each day thereafter, regardless of employment status.
One check is mailed for each week of jury service and each check is mailed approximately four weeks after the week served.
An attendance certificate, which specifies the dates of jury service, may be obtained from the Jury Pool staff at the end of a juror's service.
Florida law prohibits any employer from firing an employee who is serving on jury duty.