Basket Basket | Print Page Print Page | English | Español | Kreyol
   Home   Online Services   About us   Contact us
Miami
Clerk's Services Traffic & Parking Home & Property Court & Records Children & Family Clerk of the Board
Miami-Dade County Clerk of Court Miami-Dade County Clerk of Court



Civil Infraction Tickets

Under the Florida statutes, a civil infraction traffic ticket is a case in which a person is suspected of committing a non-criminal traffic infraction. These violations are classified as either moving or non-moving. A moving violation normally assesses points against the driver license while non-moving violations do not. These violations are not punishable by incarceration and there is no right to trial by jury or to court appointed counsel.

Examples of Moving Violations are careless driving; fail to yield at a stop sign, etc.

Examples of Non-Moving Violations are no seat belt, improper parking, etc.

Upon receipt of a traffic ticket issued to you for a civil infraction, you have 30 days from the date of issuance to satisfy your obligation. Failure to satisfy your citation(s) by selecting one of the options within 30 days of the issue date will result in the suspension of your driver license and will require the payment of late fees.

If you are charged with a civil infraction traffic ticket you may:

Option 1: Pay the civil penalty.
Points will be assessed against your license when applicable. You may pay in person, by mail, or by phone. Payment can be in the form of cash, check, money order or by Visa or MasterCard. However, due to changes in credit card security and for our customer's protection, we no longer accept credit card payments through the mail. If you are paying by mail, send your payment to

  • PO BOX 19321, Miami, Florida  33101-9321.
  • Be sure to include the yellow citation along with the driver license number and defendant's name to ensure proper payment application.
  • Do not send cash in the mail.
  • Please be aware, should the clerk receive your payment more than 30 days from the issue date you may be subject to a driver license suspension by the State of Florida.

Option 2: Attend a defensive driving course.
Points will not be assessed against your license. This option does not apply to tag, registration, driver license or P.I.P. insurance violations.

  • You are eligible to elect a 4-hour course once every 12 months, for a maximum of 5 times in a lifetime.
  • If you are not eligible for the 4-hour course, you may request an 8-hour course only once in your lifetime.
  • If you elect to attend traffic school and do not comply within 120 days of election, you will be subject to a license suspension, point assessment and additional fees.
  • Please be aware, should the clerk receive your payment more than 30 days from the issue date you may be subject to a driver license suspension by the State of Florida.

Option 3: Request a court hearing.
You may plead not guilty and request a court hearing. There are 3 categories for requesting a court hearing. Please refer to the scenario that applies to your case:

  • Your ticket was issued within the last 30 days: You may submit a request for trial either in person, by mail or by phone within 30 days of the date of issuance of the ticket.
    • You will receive notice of your hearing date, time and location within six to eight weeks at the address listed on the citation.
  • Your ticket was issued between 31 and 90 days ago: You may pay a fee to have your case set for court. This fee can be paid either in person, by mail or by phone.
    • You will receive notice of your hearing date, time and location within six to eight weeks at the address listed on the citation. If your driver license is, or is about to be suspended and you have paid the fee, you will need a D-6 clearance form.
    • You will need to present this D-6 clearance form at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office or the Clerk's Office in order to update the status of your driver license.
    • Please inform the clerk, at the time of payment, that you need a D-6 clearance form.
  • Your ticket was issued more than 90 days ago:  In order to have your case set for court, you must submit a motion to the administrative traffic judge. The motion should state why you failed to comply with your ticket on time and that you are requesting to have your case set for court. If your driver license is, or is about to be suspended, be aware that the filing of this motion will have no affect on your driver license suspension until such time that the judge grants your motion.
    • You should receive a response from the judge by mail and it may take up to 3 weeks to receive this response.
    • If the judge grants your motion, you will need to pay a fee at the Clerk's Office and you may also be required to present a D-6 clearance form at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office in order to update the status of your driver license. Please request a D-6 clearance form from the Deputy Clerk at time of payment.
    • Should the judge deny your motion, you should either contact an attorney or select option A or B above.

At a court hearing, if it is determined that a violation has been committed, the court may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500.00 or require attendance at a traffic school, or both. On violations involving death or speeding in a school/construction zone, the fine shall not exceed $1,000.00. Failure to appear, failure to complete court ordered traffic school or failure to pay court costs will result in your drivers license being suspended until all requirements are met.

  • If you have a pending case with the court and you change your mailing address, please refer to the Traffic FAQs for details on how to change your mailing address.
  • If the case is a civil infraction, you may elect to pay the civil penalty or to attend  traffic school. You may also file a motion for continuance in person or by mail  at least five working days prior to your scheduled court hearing. This motion is only a request and is subject to denial by the judge/hearing officer.
  • If you are charged with a violation of drivers license (expired less than four months), registration, or PIP insurance, these violations will be dismissed if you submit proof that before the citation was issued you had valid documentation. A dismissal fee is required.
  • If renewal was obtained after the issuance of the citation, submit proof of the renewed document along with the amount of the civil penalty. This payment option is available on Tag, Registration, PIP Insurance violations and on Driver License violations, if license was expired for 4 months or less. Under certain statutes involving Tag or Driver License violations, you may be eligible to pay a fine without renewing the document. There is a civil penalty for this option and a guilty disposition will reflect on your driving record. If you have not renewed your P.I.P. Insurance at the time you attempt to pay the ticket, you will be required to post a cash bond and the case will be set for a court hearing. Bonds must be posted in person at the Richard E. Gerstein Justice Building only.
  • Please note that these violations require that you show proof that you are now in compliance with the law. You must either visit the nearest Clerk's Office or mail in your proof of compliance (i.e., copy of driver license, registration or insurance). The fees for these violations differ depending on when you came into compliance. Be aware, these cases Do require payment. The Clerk does not have the authority to close these cases without payment. You are still required to pay a fee even if the Clerk is able to dismiss your case.
  • If you are charged with a violation of Florida Statute 316.2935 or 316.610 "Improper or Unsafe Equipment," you may receive a reduced penalty on these violations if you repair the defect within 30 days of the issue date. Send written proof within 30 days that the defect has been corrected. A civil penalty is required.
  • If you received a civil infraction traffic ticket for failing to pay a toll even though you have an active SunPass, contact SunPass at 1-888-865-5352 for assistance if the ticket was issued from any toll plaza on Florida's Turnpike (State Road 821). An operator from SunPass will assist you. If the ticket was issued from any other toll plaza in Miami-Dade County (not on Florida's Turnpike), you should contact the Miami-Dade Expressway Authority at 305-428-6091. An operator from the Authority will assist you. Effective, July 1st, 2010, toll violation fines were reduced. In addition, payment of the fine will not result in the assessment of points on your driving record.
  • If you cannot attend court in Miami-Dade County on a civil infraction traffic ticket, you may submit a plea of not guilty in absentia by posting a bond by mail (cashier's check or money order only) in the amount of the civil penalty plus the clerk's fee along with a notarized affidavit of defense sent to: Clerk of Courts, PO BOX 19321, Miami, Florida  33101-9321.  The affidavit can only be submitted for civil infraction violations and will act as your testimony in court. Upon completion of the case, the court will notify you of the outcome. If fines and/or court costs were assessed, they will be deducted from the bond. If the case is dismissed or you are found not guilty, your bond amount will automatically be refunded.
  • If you fail to attend your scheduled court hearing for a civil infraction traffic ticket, you may elect to pay the civil penalty or to attend traffic school. You must include the late charge to the initial penalty amount. You may also file a motion by mail or in person to set aside driver license suspension and request to have the case reset for court. Your drivers license will remain suspended until the judge grants your motion. Be aware, some motions are not granted and may be denied by the judge.

Visit the fee schedule for a complete list of our fees.

space
Traffic Court

Related Resources

SPIRIT

Miami-Dade County