Florida law prohibits any employer from firing an employee who is serving on jury duty.
Sections 11-31 of the Miami-Dade County Code provides that employers are to pay employees for jury service if:
- The employee is regularly scheduled to work at least 35 hours a week
- The employer has at least 10 full-time employees
- The employee serves as a juror in Miami-Dade County
- The employer has offices or does business in Miami-Dade County
- The employee gives the employer a copy of the summons and notice of jury service at least five working days prior to absence from work
Payment under this ordinance does not include commissions.
If a juror receives payment for jury service from their employer and also from the State of Florida, the employer may deduct the amount received from the State from the employee's pay.
According to Florida Statutes, during the first three days of jury duty, payment by the State is as follows:
- If your employer does NOT continue to pay your regular wages or you are NOT employed, or self-employed, then you are entitled to receive payment from the State in the amount of $15 per day for the first three days. Please make sure to carefully read the section about compensation when you register at eJuror and make the appropriate selection. If you need to correct your answer, call 786-828-5879.
- If jury service lasts four days or more, all jurors automatically receive $30 per day for the fourth day of service and each day thereafter, regardless of their employment status
- One check is mailed for each week of jury service and each check is mailed approximately four weeks after the week served
Make sure you complete the questionnaire pertaining to compensation correctly on eJuror.