Harvey Ruvin - Clerk of the Courts - Miami-Dade County, Florida

Paying Parking Citations

On payment, you will be deemed to have admitted to the infraction and to have waived your right to contest the citation.

A late penalty will be added if the fine is not paid within 30 days after the citation was issued. The following actions may result as well:

If you receive three parking citations for any violation or one parking citation for a disabled parking violation, the Department of Motor Vehicles will be notified to issue a deferral, or "stop," to the registration of any vehicle in your name. To immediately release the registration stop, you must pay all penalties due for the citations plus $7.00 for a certificate of compliance.

If you have five or more past due parking citations or one past due disabled parking citation, a court order will be issued for the impoundment and immobilization of any vehicle and license tag registered in your name. To immediately release the tow order or if the vehicle has already been towed, you will have to pay the balance due in full (by: cash, cashier's check, or money order) plus $7.00, for a certificate of compliance. The certificate of compliance must be presented to the towing company for your vehicle to be released. You must deal directly with the towing company for towing and storage charges.

Parking citations left unpaid for more than 90 days will be reported to an outside collection/credit reporting agency. You will have to pay the original fine and late penalties, plus an additional 40 percent of the total.

There are four ways to pay the fine for a parking complaint: in person, over the phone, by mail or online.

In Person:
Between the hours of 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.; Monday through Friday. Deputy Clerks are available to assist you at the following locations:

    • Parking Violations Bureau located in downtown Miami at Courthouse East or any of the District Court locations
    • You can also pay by Visa, MasterCard or American Express through the automatic voice response system (available 24 hours) at 305-275-1133.
    • You can send the payment by mail to the Department of Parking Violations in the Courthouse East building, but payment must be sent so that it arrives before the date that a late payment penalty will apply.  
    • Online payments can be made through this site with Visa, MasterCard or American Express cards.

If you pay fines with a bad check, you will be charged a penalty for paying with an uncollectible check, which is a service charge imposed by Florida law when using a check, bank draft, or no-payment order To pay parking fines. The law provides that the service charge and the total amount of the check, bank draft or payment order be paid to the Parking Violations Bureau with: cash, bank check, or money order.